A palace in Kraków's Old Town, constructed in a Gothic style influenced by Italian Renaissance in the years 1501-1503 for Erazm Ciołek—the Bishop of Płock and the secretary of King Alexander Jagiellon. In 1805, the Palace became the property of the Austrian authorities, which turned it into a police station and a prison. In later years—until the 1990s—it housed various state agencies. In 1996, the building was transferred to the National Museum in Krakow. Between 1999 and 2006, the edifice underwent extensive restoration, which brought it back to its former glory.
Currently, the first floor houses the exhibition titled Art of Old Poland. 12th–18th Centuries, where visitors can admire Polish works of art from the medieval, Renaissance and Baroque periods. The ground floor presents an exhibition titled Orthodox Art of the Old Polish Republic. In addition to the permanent galleries, the Palace is home to two academic sections: the 1st Department - Polish Painting and Sculpture before 1764 and the 18th Department - Orthodox Church Art. The building also houses painting and sculpture conservation studio. The exhibitions offered in the Palace constitute the foundation of extensive educational activities.